Murray Wins Davey O'Brien Award

Murray Wins Davey O'Brien Award

Murray Wins Davey O'Brien Award

For the 16th time in the last 19 years, a quarterback will win college football's most coveted individual award and that should not be a surprise this season.

The O'Brien Award was initially given to the top player in the Southwest before going to a quarterback-only honor in 1981. Earlier in the day, Murray was also announced as the AP Player of the Year.

Murray has led Oklahoma to a 12-1 record, a Big 12 championship and a berth in the College Football Playoff semifinals, where the Sooners will face Alabama in the Orange Bowl.

Murray and Tagovailoa will now head to New York City as Heisman trophy finalists, with the victor more uncertain than usual. Just look at his stats against 2013 Heisman victor Jameis Winston.

Murray lost out on the Maxwell award to Tagovailoa. His 4,527 yards of total offense are more than 68 of the country's other 129 teams, including six squads that are ranked in the AP Top 25 Poll. He joins Henry (2015) and McCarron (2013) as the only Crimson Tide players to win the Maxwell Award.

Murray, a 5-foot-10, 195-pound junior from Allen, Texas, won the award in his final year as a college athlete.

Murray was selected ninth overall by the Oakland Athletics in the 2018 MLB Draft last summer and said he plans to stop playing football after the season in order to focus on his professional baseball career.

As for raw numbers, Murray has thrown for 4,053 yards, 40 touchdowns and just seven interceptions while completing 71 percent of his passes. Kyler Murray transferred to Oklahoma after his freshman season, sat out a season per transfer rules and then backed up Mayfield.

I think NBCSports may be confused, Brian.

In what turned out to be a very exciting Heisman race this year, we ended up with an all-quarterback group of finalists with Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa - the favorite for the vast majority of the season - Oklahoma's Kyler Murray and Ohio State's Dwayne Haskins.

Related news