WhatsApp FINALLY Lets You Delete Messages You've Sent

WhatsApp FINALLY Lets You Delete Messages You've Sent

WhatsApp FINALLY Lets You Delete Messages You've Sent

For those unaware, the recall feature is already available in other popular chat apps like Telegram, Viber, and others, and WhatsApp is finally looking to make it available to its billion daily active users as well.

4- WhatsApp hints that the message recall will work best when you recall a message within 7 minutes of sending it.

The messaging service has begun rolling out a new "delete for everyone" feature which allows users to unsend a message within seven minutes of sending it - and here how you do it.

As stated on Whatsapp.com, the messages that one successfully deletes will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in the recipients' chat.

According to WhatsApp's FAQ page, the anticipated delete feature allows you to expunge that autocorrect fail or message sent to the wrong person from the record. If you are the sender then it shall read the prompt "You deleted this message for everyone".

What this means is that, starting from today, smartphone users across the three platforms (Android, iOS and Windows) can recall or stop the wrongly sent message from reaching the recipient. The roll out is said to be sluggish and both sender and recipient should have the updated version to use the new feature.

Tap and hold the message choose Deletefrom the menu. WhatsApp won't be keeping a copy of the message in the chat history as well. The second option, Delete for Me, is just exactly what it is; it deletes the message only from your phone.

Perhaps, the most fascinating thing about the Unsend feature is that you have two very good options. It's a feature that has been rumoured as being in the works for quite some time, and tested for a number of months.

Another worry is that if something goes wrong and the deletion doesn't work, you won't be notified.

1- It is important to note that the Delete For Everyone or in other words message recall is going to be available for Android and iPhone users. That can be handy if you sent something to someone by mistake, you made a typo, or you regretted saying something, and so on.

Related news